School Day and Term Dates

The school day starts at 8.55am. There is supervision on the upper playground from 8.35am and doors open at 8.45am. Parents are welcome in school during the morning activities and staff are available in their classrooms if you need to speak or arrange a time to do so. We ask that parents and carers leave promptly when the registration bell sounds at 8.55am.

All pupils have a morning break from 10.15-10.30am and lunchtime is from 12.00-1.00pm.

The school day ends at 3.20pm. Class teachers will send children one by one to the person collecting them. Please come forward or clearly indicate that you have seen your child so that we can ensure a safe hand over. If your child is to be collected by someone else or is to walk home alone, you must either contact the school office by telephone or email or write a note in the home school link book.

You can see the North Yorkshire term dates for 2019-20 and 2020-21 by clicking on the attachment below. Please note that school also sets 2 additional professional development training days and these are listed below. If you have any queries about school holiday or term dates, please contact the school office.

2019/20

Term starts: Term starts: Monday 2 September (Children in school Wednesday 4 September 2019)

Professional development training days: Monday 2 September 2019 and Tuesday 3 September 2019

Half term holiday: Monday 28 October 2019 to Friday 1 November 2019

Christmas holiday: Monday 23 December 2019 to Friday 3 January 2020

Professional development training day: Monday 6 January 2020

Half term holiday: Monday 17 February 2020 to Friday 21 February 2020

Easter holiday: Monday 6 April 2020 to Friday 17 April 2020

Professional development training day: Monday 20 April 2020

May bank holiday: Monday 4 May 2020

Half term: Monday 25 May 2020 to Friday 29 May 2020

Term ends: Friday 17 July 2020

Professional development training day: Monday 20 July 2020

The professional development days allocated by school for 2019/20 are: Tuesday 3rd September 2019  and Monday 20th July 2020. These are in addition to the 3 days allocated by NYCC.

2020/21

Term starts: Term starts: Monday 7 September (Children in school Tuesday 8 September 2020)

Professional development training day: Monday 7 September 2020 

Half term holiday: Monday 26 October 2020 to Friday 30 October 2020

Professional development training day: Monday 2 November 2020 (Children in school Tuesday 3 November 2020)

Christmas holiday: Monday 21 December 2020 to Friday 1 January 2021

Professional development training day: Monday 4 January 2021 (Children in school Tuesday 5 January 2021)

Half term holiday: Monday 15 February 2021 to Friday 19 February 2021

Easter holiday: Monday 29 March 2021 to Friday 9 April 2021

Professional development training day: Monday 12 April 2021 (Children in school Tuesday 13 April)

May bank holiday: Monday 3 May 2021

Half term: Monday 31 May 2021 to Friday 4 June 2021

Term ends: Friday 23 July 2021

Professional development training day: Monday 26 July 2021

The professional development days allocated by school for 2020/21 are: Monday 2 November 2020 and Monday 26 July 2021. These are in addition to the 3 days allocated by NYCC.